Bad Ideas

Yep… last week I missed my meeting so I have no idea how much I weigh and the WW online tracker keeps on bugging me to update my weight.

However, I have a valid reason. My uncle passed away the weekend before so we all packed up our bags to go to California to see family and for the funeral. Unfortunately, that also meant way too much food. Family, tears, and food should never be combined into one occasion. That just spells disaster for those trying to have a healthier lifestyle. What’s worse is that some of the bad things taste so good that you have to have more! Like the M&M cookies… Let’s just say my healthy eating habits fell down the toilet for two days. 

After I got home Saturday night, I decided to workout like a maniac on Sunday to help make up for my horrible two days in California.  Did an hour of walking/jogging and a half hour of weights.  This entire week, I have only gone over my dailies once and only a smidgeon. 

Bad idea: soda… period.  A few weeks ago, the realization hit me that diet soda has zero calories and zero points so I let myself go a little crazy with soda.  I started thinking about why I stopped drinking it in the first place when I was sixteen.  And I soon realized that the reasons that made me stop are back in my life.  Soda, for whatever reason, makes it difficult for me to breath normally.  My breaths are much more shallow after drinking any kind of soda so I have to try twice as hard to get a good breath.  Not to mention that soda makes me crave more sugar.  The “diet” in the name is starting to look less friendly.  So I’m cutting it back.  When I first went off soda, I used the cold-turkey method.  I’m thinking I need to do that again.  No more soda for me.

Before writing this, there were other bad ideas… but I’m struggling to remember them now that my mind is now protesting me going down and getting a Diet Coke even though my energy is wavering just above empty.  I’m going for a walk after work… I want to be able to breathe.  If I keep repeating that, maybe that will help me stay away. 

No more soda. No more soda. No more damn soda!

Leave a Reply

