Scary Morning

Last Thursday, I woke up a little earlier than normal to do the 30 Day Shred before work in hopes that a morning workout would help keep me awake for the day.  It was a good workout and I felt really good afterwards.  You’d think I’d be able to pull the same morning routine again… But you’d be wrong.

This morning, I woke up, popped in the disc and began the twenty minute workout.  Yes, I was tired but I had been tired last week when I did it to and the workout perked me up at least for a little bit.  I was actually quite proud because today was the first day I could do the push ups all the way through without a break.  By the time the second round of cardio swung around, I was wheezing worse than I had since I first started the Shred.  Luckily, there was a water bottle nearby so mini-breaks were easy to take.  Fast forward to after when I’m stretching a little more after the workout: I just want to shower.  So I hop in expecting to take a short shower so I could get off to work in a rush.  Let’s just say it was a lot shorter than it should have been.  My lower abdomen felt a little strange, and I’m not sure if it is one of the triggers for what happened. Halfway through the shower, my brain felt like it was expanding or something, making me extremely dizzy and feeling exhausted.  I put my head in between my knees while in the shower, and exhaustion seemed to spread through the rest of my body.  Quickly, I ran a soapy loofah haphazardly over those parts of my body that needed washing the most.  I can barely remember rinsing thoroughly… Walking out of the bathroom, I called for my mom to get me some water and proceeded to collapse on my bedroom floor wrapped in my towel, still soaking wet.  Got to work a lot later than I ever anticipated.  Taking it slow while getting ready seemed key.  Grabbed a couple fat-free muffins my mom made, sugar-free koolaid, and an apple for breakfast on my way out just hoping the food would help the emptiness that seemed to be filling my head. 

My head still has that strange sensation that I can’t quite describe.  My thighs are sore from doing the workout… Thinking back on it, it is hard to remember actually doing the workout!  What the heck happened?  What was so different about Thursday morning and this morning? I know I didn’t do the Shred over the weekend, since Grey’s Anatomy refused to leave my DVD set… But can two days off make the next workout make you feel this horrible?  You would think that a two day break would make you good and ready to go!  Again… What the heck?

Let’s hope I can make it through the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

