Break the Habit!

See full size imageUsually when I indulge in crazy sweets, I don’t track. I know it’s an awful habit to havebecause no matter if you track it or not, it still shows. Of my current goals right now, tracking more honestly is a challenge yet it is probably my most important.

For example, yesterday we had our first frost. And what does that signal my body? Winter is coming. I don’t do cold at all so I tend to turn to warm food/drink alternatives when clothes just aren’t enough to warm the chill inside my chest. This time last year, I would close out each night with a nice warm cup of Stephen’s hot cocoa and a fresh cookie or brownie. And guess what? I fell into that habit last night all too easily. Last night, I had a steaming cup of Stephens… along with a considerable slice of warm chocolate cake.

The good part about this– I tracked it. I tracked it. Usually when I indulge like this, I don’t track because I’m afraid to see the numbers in my online tracker dip below my daily point allotment, or worse, on the scale. But this time, I tracked it! I still can’t believe it. I went nearly ten points over my daily allotment of points.

I’ve discovered that I’m not an emotional eater, I’m an atmosphere eater. Because of this, I’m slightly afraid for the rest of the cold season. Will I be able to control myself? I certainly hope so. And if I continue to work on my tracking, I may be able to make it out alive! :)

A quote I heard on my fave blog (IowaGirlEats) may help me through this: How will this choice help me get closer to my goal?
Isn’t that such a great question to ask yourself before you eat that last piece of cake or debate whether or not to go on a walk or to the gym? This is going to be my mantra for the next while :)

Leave a Reply

