Birthday Battles

Yep! My birthday was a couple days ago (October 13th to be exact) and I’m now 21. The big age in America because it’s when you are legally old enough to drink alcohol. But it’s not the alcohol I’m struggling with… it’s the cake. And the fact that I’m on fall break meaning I have way too much time on my hands which is wonderful, but it also means I fill my hands with little snacks. In particular the delectable chocolate mint creams that the Finnish family brought over when they visited us and whipped cream. I’ve eaten so much of those over the past three days that there’s no way they can be counted. So tracking fell by the wayside for two days.

I’m back on tracking now so that’s a start and I’m trying to plan healthy meals to make up for those two days. However, there is a chocolate cake on our counter that my mom made on Sunday, a cheesecake in the outdoor fridge (my cake of choice for my b-day dinner), and a chocolate fudge cake that will be arriving at my birthday bar celebration that is taking place on Saturday. Oh, boy… Not to mention the Guinness that my step dad bought for me. I had one on my birthday. In all honesty, I don’t want to drink the rest because it isn’t as good as it was in Ireland. Not by a long shot. Good thing about Guinness though– low points for an alcoholic beverage.

Then there is this weekend. With the chocolate fudge cake. And the bar. I have no idea how I’m going to stay on plan. Especially since it’s my birthday and that was my excuse on Tuesday for every food decision I made (which involved a Whopper Jr. and Barqs). I know that’s going to be the excuse again. No one will influence me… It’s my choice. But if people buy me drinks that’s a different story. Oh, boy…

And after the party, I’ll get back on track. No if’s, and’s, or but’s about it. As much as I’m excited to celebrate my newfound freedom to go into bars and order a drink if I so please (won’t happen often since my fave drinks aren’t even in America!)– I can’t wait for it to be over so I can behave like my Leader tells me.

Oh crap! He’s going to tell us to behave Saturday morning and I’m going to be partying that night… oh boy. I’m debating whether I even want to go to WI. I know it won’t do me any favors but I know I’m going to gain. It’s almost a certainty. Why not skip and do better next week after the festivities (which I know I can do)?

Leave a Reply

