Poster Dreams

This morning when I came downstairs, my mom had a huge poster board with many pictures, clippings from magazines, and scrapbooking supplies surrounding her at our kitchen table.  When I asked her what she was doing, she responded: “A project for me.  My best friend (name omitted) says I need specific visual goals for this year mapped out.  She says it helped her obtain her goals last year.”

A second look over the poster, I saw things like “Fight Hungry” with the little Hungry doll, make 30 calls a day in order to make money with her own recruiting business, group exercise, “Learn to Relax”, “I come first”, “No guilt”, and a lot more.  I couldn’t help but smile.  I just love my mom!  I love that she’s recognizing what she wants and what she needs to do in order to achieve them all.  Except she did cut out a clipping that said, “Will work for chocolate” and I asked her how that works with her wanting to rejoin WW… her response– “It’s all about balance, Mikael!” She’s such a goof!

I couldn’t have been prouder!  This may sound strange but it was almost like watching my mom grow up or something.  I’m rooting for her =)

My visual motivators are smaller things than her poster board: my WW keyring and my Hungry magnet (who cares about the recall? he’s too cute!) that is on my magnet board in my room that I wrote something on: “I want to be strong, fit, and healthy.”  When I joined WW, my goal was to get back to my high school weight–which I am now!  No numbers anymore–just plain and simple.

Have you ever made a poster like the one my mom is working on?  Or does something else help you visualize what you want?

Found a Zumba class at my University on Friday nights, so I’m going tonight for exercise 4 days in a row!  And then tomorrow morning…. WI! 

Have a fantabulous Friday everyone!

Leave a Reply

