Importance of Being… Hungry?

Last night, I went and saw The Importance of Being Earnest and thoroughly enjoyed the Wilde comedy. Very well put on and the comedic timing and expression was truly wonderful. Pretty sure I developed a little crush on the guy who played Algernon too… totally CUTE.

In high school, I was the Assistant Director for our production of Earnest. But I totally forgot how much food played a role–supposedly it represents sessual repression or something!  Haha… but here are a couple quotes that particularly stood out to me.

Cecily~ “I should have remembered that when one is going to lead an entirely new life, one requires regular and wholesome meals.”

WeightWatchers is a step to making your life anew. Eating regularly with wholesome foods is one of those keys! Just finding what works best with your body and lifestyle!

Algernon~ “Well, I can’t eat muffins in an agitated manner. The butter would probably get on my cuffs. One should always eat muffins quite calmly. It is the only way to eat them.”

Eating slowly is an important key in engaging your mouth with the flavors of the food, really tasting it. It also helps you recognize when you are full if you eat slower because it takes more time. 20 minutes is how long it takes the brain to recognize that the stomach has reached capacity.

Algernon~ “When I am in trouble, eating is the only thing that consoles me. Indeed, when I am in really great trouble, as any one who knows me intimately will tell you, I refuse everything except food and drink. At the present moment I am eating muffins because I am unhappy. Besides, I am particularly fond of muffins.”

This line just cracked me up despite it’s message not being as WW friendly. Food is not the answer to our problems. When there is stress or we are simply bored, food is often turned to by most of us. That really isn’t the smartest way to handle stress or emotions. The eating during that time can lead to guilt, weight gain, and more, which will then in turn lead to more stress. It’s an exacerbator.
But when there is a not-so-plan-friendly food that you love, there is always room for it as long as it’s in moderation and portion controlled! =)

Just food and quotations for thought today! Happy Hump Day!

What’s your favorite quotation about food?

Leave a Reply

