Defy Gravity

Something has changed within me,
Something is not the same.
I’m through with playing by the rules
of someone else’s game.
Too late for second guessing,
too late to go back to sleep.
It’s time to trust my instincts.
Close my eyes and leap!

I’m through accepting limits
cuz someone says they’re so.
Some things I cannot change,
but ’til I try I’ll never know.
Too long I’ve been afraid of
Losing love I guess I’d lost.
Well, if that’s love,
it comes at much too high a cost!
I’d sooner buy defying gravity.
Kiss me goodbye, I’m defying gravity.
I think I’ll try defying gravity
and you won’t bring me down!

I never realized how much this song can pertain to someone’s weight loss journey until now…
We all change through this process–we become who we truly want to be.
And that means we don’t have to live under the influence of others.
They shouldn’t force us to be the way they want. They shouldn’t force us to eat or be lazy. We do eat better and be more active to make a better us. In our own eyes. We do it to love ourselves more. And when we do that, we can allow other people to love us right as well.
So we push ourselves to be our very best. We defy our own gravity. Sometimes our own gravity can give us a tug downward, but we just have to keep rising above it each time we fall. Sometimes we get afraid of what might happen at the end of the road. At least there is a light there that we all look forward too.
But we can’t let others bring us down. They do it because of jealousy, or fear, or concern… whatever the reason, it’s for themselves. Well, like I’ve said, we are doing this for ourselves too.
We do this for us. Not anyone else. We just have to keep trekking onward. It’s a lifetime of rising upward. Keep it up everyone!
Have a great weekend! =)
Leave a Reply

