St. Patty’s Day!

*sends virtual pinches to everyone NOT wearing green… don’t try to hide it* :P

This may be one of the most forgotten or passive holidays ever but that doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate!

Well, technically I have to. It’s my mom’s birthday too!  So I never ever forget it, I’m always decked out in green, and I like to pretend that I found a four-leaf clover.  When I was a kid, I convinced myself that my mom was a leprechaun in disguise because her birthday was on St. Patty’s day.  And I’d tell everyone (just like I’m doing now)!  Now I know there’s probably no chance of that because my mom’s family doesn’t have a trace of Irish blood in it. Trust me, I’ve done the legwork (genealogy is fascinating!). That and the fact that leprechauns–I can’t believe I’m going to say this and go against my overly active imagination–don’t exist! *gasp*

Some family is coming over tonight for cake and ice cream.  Luckily, I have Zumba right before then (yep, I’ve decided not to miss it) so according to “girl math”, they cancel each other out nicely. ;)  I’ll only have cake most likely because they are getting chocolate cake.  Ice cream just can’t compare so I’d rather indulge in cake. It’s my mom’s birthday! A celebration with cake is absolutely essential!

However, if I were in Ireland right now, I’d be celebrating with Guinness and Irish musicians in Dublin… most likely at Gogarty’s, my favorite pub.

Be honest, did you wear green?

*cackles maniacally before sending another round of pinches to people not wearing green*

Leave a Reply

