When to Break

As soon as I opened this page, I wanted a green tea.

*fast forward 3 minutes*

Ok, now I’m ready.  Of course, last night was my Zumba night and I never ever miss those.  My Zumba instructor says she always looks forward to coming because she can count on me to always be there… last night she even brought me a pink wrist band that says “Peace. Love. Zumba.” and I love it! She’s such a sweetheart.

Last night, I’m not sure if its because of my circuit training or lack of real cardio exercise since last weeks class, Zumba kicked my ever-loving trash.  The first 30 minutes were of POW-POW-POW upbeats and by the 45 minute marker I just wanted to collapse on the floor. But I didn’t, I finished out strong.  We even did a couple new sequences.  I was sore, sweaty, exhausted, you-name-it after the class–it was a full body work out.  Then I remembered my vow to do push ups every day. So I went to the mirror, placed my feet up against it, planked myself, and got ready to lower…

Yeah, I could barely do 5.  It was at that point when I realized my body had hit its max.  So today is my break day.  I have my pedometer and I’m aiming for 10,000 steps but other than that, my body deserves a break.  It’s been getting a lot done this week, so it deserves it.  My mom wanted me to go to Body Pump with her tonight, but I don’t think that will happen.  Body Pump is a real killer and I’d rather not be sore during my 6 hour drive to Vegas tomorrow thankyouverymuch-ifitsallthesametoyou.

Some days a break is just needed!  It’s important to recognize when your body needs recover instead of going completely gung-ho with high powered activity every single day of the week. 

Now onto finding out if I want to hit a meeting in the morning before I leave, or hit the 7AM meeting in Vegas on Saturday morning before I drive to Arizona…

When do you know when it’s time to take a break from your exercise routines?

Leave a Reply

