No Processing Please!

So I’ve been thinking a lot these past few days about processed foods and how bad they can be for our body… And yes, Italy inspired this concept too because of all their natural homemade food and how much better it was.

Usually for lunch at work, I bring in a Lean Cuisine or Healthy Choice meal of some sort.  I’m quite familiar with the Nutritional Information and ingredients on the backs of those.  They are loaded with sodium, sugar, and actually have a lot of chemicals shoved in them to keep them preserved.  Sure it’s low calorie, potentially low fat and good fiber, but what it all comes down to is those meals really aren’t that beneficial to a body.  In fact, there are days when I find I’m starving just after an hour of eating one.  Obviously not very filling! Processed food tends be a load of junk overall… our bodies surely don’t need that except in small portions and sparingly so we don’t go completely crazy.

That’s why I’m thinking of branching away from such foods. Sticking with more natural things… like instead of bringing a Lean Cuisine, I can make a turkey sandwich with low-fat cheese, lettuce, and whole grain bread and pair it with a side of some kind of fruit. Probably more tasty, more nutritional, and I’d feel better about what I’m putting in my body.  It will be a weaning process for sure. Plus it will give me more opportunities to cook which I need to work on anyways. A new “trying” experience… =)

Has anyone else taken this step to move away from highly processed foods? Easy? Hard? Worth it? What are your thoughts on this?

Leave a Reply

