The New Leader

Saturday morning at 7:30 AM, despite being slightly over my WW Lifetime weight range (only because of clothes… if they’d allow nude WI, I would have been safe), I hauled my sorry bum down to my meeting.  After paying the unexpectedly low fee of $9 for the meeting (thought it would be 12), I walked in and took a seat in the packed room.  It didn’t even look like my old meeting group.  A couple faces were recognizable but my favorite friend that I usually sit with wasn’t there… and she’s the one who does a lot of the talking.  The other talkative members weren’t even there.  I felt horribly out of place.

And of course, the meeting starts and it’s just how I remember it is with her.  “I this, I that… I’ll need your help” but then the people who spoke up were people I didn’t recognize.  Think she told her Thursday meeting people that she was doing Saturday mornings so they jumped ship and crashed our party?  Me not pleased and not particularly motivated.  At the end of the meeting, I was the one to say, “And remember: behave! And keep your tracker!” in true Gordon style.  The regular Saturday-goers laughed and heartily agreed with me.  It’s not the same when the New Leader says it.

The one thing I’ll praise her on is that she actually gave us a particular challenge for this week (Eat with dignity, purpose, and stop the eat-a-thons. Just for this week.  But if you felt like continuing, you could.)  Have I followed it?  No… My brother brought home Reese’s yesterday.  Luckily I stopped myself after an overflowing handful.  But this morning, instead of eating my apple on the road, I sat and ate a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios.  Did what she say stick?  A little. We’ll see how the rest of the week goes.

What I’m sad about is that I didn’t get to see my true group mold with the New Leader.  My buddy wasn’t even there.  I don’t want to have to sit through the new leader again especially if my group has changed, but I’m dying to see how she handles my talkative friend.  I’m dying to try out the other 8 o’clock meeting just a little farther away in the other direction.  New fit needed… maybe in two weeks.  My friend better be there this weekend.

As for me, now it’s time to knuckle backdown and get back into my Lifetime range.  I’m not paying for another meeting again, no siree.

Activity for this week:

Mon- Clean house! Lots of vacuuming, dusting, and scrubbing the floors. Maybe work in some push ups and ab work after depending on energy levels.
Tues- Stationary bike w/Pokemon SoulSilver at hand.
Wed- Zumba! It better not be canceled this time…
Thurs- Jillian Michaels No More Problem Zones or 30 Day Shred depending on time.
Fri- Elliptical and my cycle of strength crutches
Sat- Pole fitness! My new fave! =)

Coming tomorrow (so I won’t forget that I want to discuss this)… Specificity in Goals

Leave a Reply

