Campus Concerns

Can I just say that I cannot wait for school to start on Monday?  I’m counting down the minutes to when I won’t be confined to a desk all day, every day.  I’ll be walking around campus a little more.

There’s a major perk to my campus: it’s on a slope.  Which means a better workout going up it and coming down is easy which will be nice at the end of the day.

Today I got a chance to walk around campus, get my books, and do some work for my fall internship.  The only drawback?  The heat!  Oh goodness… the sweat marks on my shirt were almost embarrassing.  Luckily, there weren’t a lot of people around.

And that’s what I’m worried about when school starts!  The sweat marks!  And then the classrooms whose temperatures tend to match the outside.  Either that or will completely freezing.  And since it will be hot outside (I live in the desert), I really won’t want to wear or carry heavy clothes.  What to do, what to do…

As far as food goes, I’ll be bringing my own lunches so I’m not concerned really.  Need to save my money anyways.

Then there’s the classes themselves… No matter how much sleep I get at night, I have been known to nod off during class.  Last year, I relied caffeinated diet sodas to keep me awake.  With my new “no soda” kick, I have no idea what will help keep me awake if I fall into the horrible cycle of sleeping in class.  I seriously don’t mean to. I’ll even fall asleep while doodling.  Heck, I’ve even fallen asleep in choir before!  It’s usually when the class is excessively boring when my head will do that familiar head bob. I’m really hoping my classes will be interesting enough to keep me awake this semester.

Classes: Intro to Playwriting, Studies in Poetry, Women’s Chorus, Survey of Theater (online), and third-semester Italian.  Sounds fun right?  I’m really excited!  I should be entertained enough to stay awake… right? Haha!

How do you handle nodding off either at school or at the office?

Leave a Reply

