Believe. Dream. Live.

When I was younger, I was not very active at all. I was the bookworm who would sit in the corner at recess, reading and writing. Those physical tests that were subjected to us in elementary through high school were something I dreaded. My attitude towards it changed gradually as I started to dance when I was 12. But I still hated those kinds of tests–I always did horribly.

The one thing I never thought I would do: run a whole mile. I remember being the very last person besides the kid who had awful asthma hitting the finish line. In high school it was a little better, but it’s still… not very good.

Heather (madtownmotzie) ran over one mile last week and she blogged about it. That inspired/challenged me to try. I’ve never been a runner but I’m active in other ways. In a way, I haven’t tried to run for an extended amount of time probably since high school. So, about four years?

And tonight I ran more than a mile, just like Heather! I did a five minute walking warm-up then ran a mile in just over ten minutes! I continued to run for about 3 more minutes, before walking for five before running a little faster for a couple of minutes before my cool down. Not my normal hour-long work out but I was sweating like a pig in after 25 minutes. Sweat works for me!

Doing this tonight reminded me of something I saw last weekend…

At my best friends new home in Wyoming, she has this decoration on her wall that I immediately fell in love with. This is what it said:

Believe.

Dream.

Live.

I really feel that it can apply to a journey like WeightWatchers. Believing that we can make a difference in our own lives and the way we choose to be healthier. We dream of reaching that goal weight and our other health objectives. But most of all, through our actions, we get to
live healthier, more active lives. In a way, it’s enriching for our lives. We’re adding extra quality years to spend with people we love and to dream of even more.

Now I want to run for even longer! ;)

What do you dream about achieving with your body aside from your goal weight?

Leave a Reply

