Sweets in the Athletic Department

Unless you just started following me, you probably know that I’m interning in my University’s sports department. It’s amazing. I write all the time and get to meet with athletes and coaches on a weekly basis. Constantly having fun! And… eating? :S

The one thing that I don’t understand though is this: Why is it that the athletic department, of all the departments, brings so many treats for the workers?

You’d think that because of the athletic nature that the treats would be reined in because you’d think they’d care about health. NOPE! Some kind of baked good is in the office 4 out of the 5 days of the week. In addition to that, at each football game, at least two people bring baked goods (often cookies and brownies–weaknesses of mine) for the press box.  They seriously sit not five feet away from where I happen to be stationed making it difficult to refuse said sweets.

One of the girls here is seriously going to kill me though. She’s one of the best home bakers I’ve met; each time she brings something I have to try it because they are so scrum-diddly-umptious! And then I end up wanting more. Often, I’ll tell myself to not even touch them. But then someone sits next to me applauding her baking skills yet again… and I just have to try one! It’s quite the battle. She always makes something different so I’m just waiting for her to bomb on a recipe… is that awful? Haha.

But it absolutely blows my mind that the athletic department is endorsing the eating of such things!

Let me just say that I’m very glad my activity is high enough that I usually don’t have too worry too much. But it’s getting to be a bit much, I think.

Case in point: right now, there are cupcakes and brownies sitting in the lobby. I’ve had two brownies. (In my defense, they were mint and extremely worth the 8 points in my book when they are that good.) They are tracked and I’m officially out of daily points. Small dinner for me tonight!

The bad news that isn’t really related but would affect my week and brownie consumption:
Somehow I dorked my knee badly in Zumba last night. Like really bad. It was like one second, I was fine. The next moment, I was yelping and stumbling. No idea what happened. And I hate it when that happens. (XD) I can’t even walk around campus today because it hurts so much! (“Hello, bus driver! Yes, this is the third time you’ve seen me in one day.”) Because of this, I don’t know if I’ll be able to workout tonight. I’ll try the elliptical for a bit but if even that causes problems, I may be out of commission for the time being. First my hip and now my knee? Talk about depressing. I NEED MY WORKOUT! GAH!

But back to the athletic department… can a get a collective, “HUH?”

Leave a Reply

