Willpower vs. Want power

According to the WW “Willpower or Want Power” quiz that I found earlier this morning (which has become uber elusive like the Room of Requirement in HP since I can’t find it now and it was something I needed… figures), I have the want power to stick with my healthy habits. Unfortunately, I feel like more willpower needs to step into the game.
Yes, I want to be healthy. Yes, I want to be able to say no to temptation that tends to line my new house. Yes, I want to make that change.

However…

Yes, I want to be a food purist and not eat the sugar-free and fat-free alternatives because they have stupid preservatives and sweeteners that aren’t any better for you any more than the natural stuff. Yes, I’d like that with a side of french fries. And yes, why not pick up my soda habit again as long as it’s not diet (stupid Barqs tastes too good for it’s own good)! *slaps head*

There is this battle going on within me ever since we have gone through the moving process. Things aren’t horrible but again, they are not peachy keen either. Lots of fast food and eating out over the past couple of weeks. The only activity I really got was from hauling in boxes. Tracking is going the best and that’s saying something because even that wasn’t flawless (pretty sure I only tracked the root beer once).

And I feel like I’ve gained 20 pounds even though it’s only a couple according to my scale this morning.

So I have the want power… so when will the will power step in?

What I’ve discovered today during my ponderings is that “want” is only the emotional part of doing something. It’s only half of the battle–the rest is willpower! Because if you don’t have the willpower to get something done then wanting it can only take you so far. The willpower is what keeps pressing you forward even if something makes you stumble. The want power gets you started and the willpower is the sustenance. Do you agree?

So it’s a combo of will power and want power that achieves results, is it?

Well, I’m glad that quiz popped up this morning because now I’ve evaluated my own willpower and given it a little boost to start playing by the rules again. There’s nothing wrong with the rules in my opinion. =D

Leave a Reply

