Ravenous Mornings

A couple months ago, my Pole Fitness instructor said something that got me thinking.

“If you’re not starving in the morning, you’re not working hard enough.”

Interesting, right? When I thought back on it, the mornings following a heavy duty workout I’d usually find myself positively ravenous and I could never figure out why. And my instructor answered it without even knowing it!

I don’t exactly know the science but from what I found it’s because our bodies are likely in a prolonged energy burning mode for a long time after an intense workout. So by the time the morning comes our body has burned so much that we just need to eat something first thing in the morning so it can have some energy back.

Googling it, I read people complaining about it because it would derail their weight loss efforts because they would go overboard on food to compensate for the intense hunger. With my usual morning routine (apple with yogurt/oatmeal), this wasn’t something that I saw as a problem but I can see how that would make sense for a lot of people.

And this takes me back to willpower… you need that willpower to just eat what your body needs and just enough. What your body likely needs the day after a tough workout is protein and complex carbs so you can repair your body and have the energy to beat the exhaustion that is likely hitting. You don’t need to overdo it or eat til you’re full to reap the benefits of a breakfast like eggs with whole grain toast. Remember, protein keeps you satisfied longer. ;)

Have you noticed that you tend to be more hungry upon waking up the morning after an intense workout? 

One thought on “Ravenous Mornings

  1. Pingback: Those sneaky workouts… « Kel Lives Well

Leave a Reply

