Challenge: Eat ONLY When Hungry

This is something that I’m sure each of us has struggled with at some point. Eat when we’re bored, when we’re lonely, and when we’re just browsing through our fridge or pantry because we somehow automatically go there at the end of the day.

Eating when your not hungry doesn’t really solve anything though. The sad part is, we all know this… but we continue to do it in some way or another. Like last night, even though I was completely satisfied after dinner, I decided to polish off the last third of my dark chocolate bar that I portioned out through out the whole week.

The first step to fighting this is realizing that we are eating for the wrong reasons. Number two, figure out why we are searching for food… which leads to the third step where we think of another way to satiate the need that clearly isn’t hunger. And fourth, do that instead!

Those steps seem easy enough, right? Like always, though, easier said than done.

But I’d like to challenge you for this week. Eat only when you are truly hungry. A couple good ways to figure out if it’s true hunger is to down a big glass of water as thirst disguises itself as hunger most of the time. The next part of the challenge is to only eat until you are satisfied instead of full since it takes the body 20 minutes to register fullness.

This is the challenge I have set for myself so I’d love for anyone and everyone to join me. What do you say? :)

Leave a Reply

