Naturally in LA…

My challenge from last week went pretty well for the most part! I ate almost always when I was hungry and was able to stop before feeling full. The biggest challenge was being out of town for it since I was in LA auditioning for The Voice.

Man, did I feel spoiled! My host and his parents wouldn’t let me pay for anything! We went out for most meals, a couple of which were exceedingly nice and delicious. One restaurant even reincarnated my favorite dish from Italy (these guys have serious connections). I may have polished off every meal I had, but I still managed to keep my hunger/fullness feelings in check–and I enjoyed every single bit of it. Even the Oreo milkshake from Mel’s Diner. But it was on this trip that I realized something…

If I’m going to eat something, consume a host of calories, I better be enjoying it. If I’m not doing that, then there is absolutely no reason to be eating it. If I don’t like it, then I don’t want those calories being in anyway in my daily diary.

In a way, this is great! In another, it’s interesting because I’ve become a bit of a food purist. I don’t like touching fat-free or sugar-free alternatives of foods unless it is the only option (dairy tends to be the only exception). If I’m going to eat something, I want it to be the real deal with real, natural ingredients. None of that aspartame or preservative junk. This is why I miss Europe food so much–absolutely none of that stuff.

I love food! It’s just how it is. I enjoy eating and trying new flavors and revisiting favorites. If I’m not enjoying it, it’s so not worth it to even finish it.

Call me crazy, but yesterday I even accidentally ordered the wrong drink from Starbucks. It’s a new discovery of mine that someone from the auditions told me about that I loved (iced soy green tea latte w/ only 2 pumps syrup–new fave!) so I hadn’t gotten down the swagger of ordering it yet. Tried a sip, realized I had made a mistake–and it was a bad one (forgot the soy and forgot to ask for iced). Despite paying $3 for it, I tossed it immediately in the trash. Didn’t like it, not worth it!

So what do you think on only eating things you enjoy so long as you keep yourself in check?

One thought on “Naturally in LA…

  1. Pingback: Challenge: Slow Down! « Kel Lives Well

Leave a Reply

