The Fun Factor

What is most important to you when it comes to choosing a workout?

I just came across an interesting poll on SparkPeople (diet and fitness regimented tracking community website) regarding this very topic. The poll lists fun, convenience, effectiveness, location, calories burned, ability to be modified/adapted, level of ease/difficulty, and other as the options.

Me being me, I cannot stand a workout that I don’t have fun with so naturally I chose the first option. When the results popped up, I was intrigued by the numbers.

Effectiveness came in first with 27% of the votes, which is understandable. Convenience was the runner-up with 23%. Fun only garnered the bronze medal with 17%… and that got me thinking.

The top two voted options make sense, they really do. You want a workout that challenges your body and can trigger changes, and you also want a workout that isn’t completely out of your way to do. But here’s where my argument steps in…

When there is a workout I enjoy, I make a point to make it convenient for me since I don’t want to miss out. Not only that, but I work harder at it because when I’m having a good time, it’s hard to not go full out–and that helps make a workout more effective too! So in a way, it’s like the fun factor ups everything else in my mind. This is why Zumba Fitness and Pole Fitness are my favorite ways to stay fit. Fun, constantly challenging, and not too difficult to make convenient in my life. Adding a TV or book to the situation can be fun too, except sometimes that can distract from having the “hardcore” workout that I like.

What do you think? What’s most important to you? Does it make a difference in the way you both view and perform your workouts?

One thought on “The Fun Factor

Leave a Reply

