Today will be a Gold Star Day!

Let’s face it … yesterday was not a Gold Star Day for me.

I tried to mentally talk myself into having a good OP day. That all went to to h-e-double-hockey-sticks  when I found out my business lunch was going to be at Cheesecake Factory and my boss wouldn’t take no for an answer on me eating some cheesecake.

When I wanted my second step to be knowing my Points+ values before eating, Cheesecake Factory is a horrible choice regardless. The lack of nutritional information for this restaurant is so daunting–you can’t get an accurate Points+ calculation at all. They even have a new Skinnylicious menu, so that’s what I stuck with. I tried their Skinnylicious Veggie Burger which came with mixed greens and their balsamic vinaigrette that I love. It wasn’t bad at all! I rather enjoyed it. Luckily when the time came for cheesecake, another one of my co-workers said she’d rather split one. Bonus. We split a Key Lime Cheesecake.

I know that lunch doesn’t seem like a bad thing all around–I made the best of what I could. But because I couldn’t control the situation and it was unexpected, that bothered me and put me in a funk that made me overindulge the rest of the day on crackers. Shame on me.

So today, I decided that it would be a good day–no matter what. I’m not the best at preparing or planning for meals. When I got home from work last night (at 11:15 p.m. mind you), I turned on one of my TV shows that I missed this week and prepared my menu for today.

  • Apple and Quaker instant oatmeal for breakfast.
  • Turkey and havarti cheese orowheat sandwich for lunch.
  • Romaine salad with olive oil, balsamic and chicken breast for dinner.
  • 2 mini light babybels, string cheese, edamame and grapefruit cups for snacks.

After I tracked it all last night too, and realized I had knocked out all my GHG’s and even had room to spare so I made a mental note to hit Starbucks for my favorite Skinny Peppermint Mocha to fill that spot this morning. My own little indulgence early in the day. And I still have a couple points leeway just in case my planned meals/snacks don’t keep me satisfied.

And this morning, I woke up refreshed and ready for a fantastic day. When I arrived at work, someone asked me how much coffee I’d really had since I was so amped.

It’s amazing what a little willpower and a positive attitude can do!

Now let’s see if I can manage a little activity somewhere in my 9 a.m. to 10:45 p.m. workday …

Hope you have a Gold Star Day! Rock it, okay? :)

What do you consider a Gold Star day?

Leave a Reply

