When Sick: To work out or Not work out

Pre-measuring check-in time!

Tomorrow I will be busting out the measuring tape and stepping on the scale for the first time since my first measuring day for Operation: Fit & Fierce last week.

How did this week shape up?

Not bad! Not bad at all! Tracked with MFP. My protein intake increased a bit (I think… I didn’t really have numbers to compare it to) and I managed to have a great week on the food front, not depriving myself of anything I truly wanted and eating the good things for me. I’m noticing my ab lines a little more too, which is always motivating. Plus I got in a work out every single day until Sunday, which I used as my rest day. I mean that since I slept in until 2:30 p.m. due to a sinus infection/head cold settling in.

Speaking of feeling under the weather, I’m always hesitant to bust out heavy duty workouts whenever I’m sick. Actually I’m hesitant to do anything longer than 20 minutes or too strenuous during that time. Last time I thought I could do it, my illness got worse triple fold and it took a week to get over it.

And Zumba is tonight. I love my Zumba classes; they make every day better even if they were amazing to begin with. Now I’m not sure if my body wants me to workout. Half of me wants to hit my bed when I get home to try and sleep this SOB off.

This little bout of sinus infection/cold/whatever it is actually isn’t that bad. It’s mostly staying north of my neck–nosey stuff, swollen throat and very sensitive brain that spins and feels airy a lot when it’s not spinning from me getting up.

I’ve heard a lot of experts say that as long as an illness isn’t below the neck, you’re fine to workout as long as it’s not too strenuous. That’s the advice that got me into trouble last time though–I did Zumba and nearly died (note the melodramaticism). So now I’m stuck.

Go to Zumba or not go to Zumba and rest this illness off? Open to your thoughts.

Otherwise, I’ll be checking in tomorrow to share how My Measuring Morning measures up.

What are your thoughts on exercising while feeling under the weather?

Leave a Reply

