Day 1 of the Whole30

To help mark the new year, I cleaned out my parts of the pantry and the fridge and realized something.

I eat a TON of grains. The Whole30 recommends you throw it all away or donate the foods that promote a healthy psychological and hormonal response and support a healthy gut. And grains and dairy (among other things… like cookies) are not included.

Instead I hid most of it that I had too much of to toss, but I can’t tell you where. I don’t want that crap documented so I can look it up. ;)

And then I had a nightmare about messing up on my first day on the Whole30 when faced with a chocolate orange. So least to say, I didn’t sleep very well.

BUT this is a great opportunity to feed my body the food that can make it function at its best. That’s my goal! I’m super excited for it!

First day is done… and here’s what I’d like to do. I want to document how everything goes, the meals I eat, how I sleep and everything. So here goes!

  • Breakfast: Omelet made with broccoli and EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
  • Lunch: 4 oz. smoked turkey breast on a bed of spinach, shredded carrots, topped with S&P, EVOO and cashews
  • Snack: 2 clementines and a handful of almonds
  • Dinner: 5 oz. tri-tip steak and a bowl of steamed broccoli & carrots (with EVOO!), both topped with seasoning and S&P

How I feel:
Things feel okay! I’m just tired since I didn’t sleep well last night so I’m ready for bed. I did get hungry mid-afternoon so that tells me that I need a more sustaining lunch. Either that or I need to “rearrange” my eating schedule. There really is so much water you can drink before your stomach screams, “Give me food!”

After heading to Trader Joes today, I realized that I have more stuff to buy. Like salsa and cooking broth so I can make more than what I can make now.

But let me tell you something… that steak was YUMMY! ;)

Here’s onto Day 2!

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of the Whole30

  1. Pingback: Whole30: Round two! | Kel Lives Well

Leave a Reply

