Day 2 of Whole30 – The Hangover

On the Whole30 timeline, day two is supposed to be the hangover day.

Not sure if this is a hangover, but I definitely did not want to get out of bed. Then I rushed cooking breakfast (though I’m sure I overcooked the turkey), ran and barely made it to my train on time to head to work. Now I have ADD all over the place and my head feels funny. And yes, my energy is kind of sappy. For those of you who have done the paleo or Whole30 thing, what was the “hangover” stage like for you? 

So it’s not entirely like the “hangover” described in the timeline, but I can feel it. I didn’t gorge on all unhealthy things right before I started this though, and that may be why. I wasn’t eating horribly, but I wasn’t limiting myself either. I wanted those chocolate oranges until they went out of season, dang it!

Now for the food stuffs…

  • Breakfast: Morning Mix (ground turkey, apple, cinnamon skillet in EVOO), a few blueberries and a couple chunks of pineapples.
  • Lunch: Romaine, smoked turkey breast, shredded carrots, cashews, EVOO and S&P
  • Snack: 2 clementines and a handful of almonds (yes, again)
  • Dinner: 5 oz of tri-tip steak with sauteed mushrooms — seriously delish

How I feel:
Lethargic and slow-minded a little… It took a while for me to get with it this morning. On the upside, I’m loving the opportunity to make myself cook more. Seriously, the mushrooms turned out so well (despite having to rush dinner too) and I can’t wait to try other new things! Not sure how I feel about the Morning Mix yet, but the apples definitely made it better.

EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) is turning into my “healthy fat” crutch though. It’s delicious and it can virtually work with anything. I need to do an avocado tomorrow to shake things up, haha.

I’ve built up a short shopping list of things I’d like to have or try… salsa and coconut milk are on it.

And here’s a great quote that I got in one of my favorite daily newsletters, The DIY Daily, for a little inspiration today:

“Be not confined to calendar constraints, commit to change each and every day.”

That’s what we are doing right? Making changes to be better everyday?

Then let’s rock it! … Well, once I get some sleep. ;)

3 thoughts on “Day 2 of Whole30 – The Hangover

  1. For me, between days 3-5 I usually feel like crap, nothing really gets done. Just listen to your body and rest as much as you need to. If you arent feeling up to working out, then dont. Remember your body is trying to flush out toxins, and that takes a lot of energy.

    • Thanks for the warning! The Whole30 email today mentioned taking rest as much as feasible during this time too.

      Like I have time to work out… haha. Tonight would be my first time I’d be able to since I started. We’ll see how I feel. ;) Thanks for your comment!

  2. Pingback: Day 3 of the Whole30 – Eating Out! « Kel Lives Well

Leave a Reply

