Day 13 of Whole30 – Sicky Sinner

Forgive me, Lord, for I have sinned.

I’ve been sucking on Halls cough drops (damn sinus infection). They have stuff in them that I’m technically not supposed to be ingesting during the Whole30… but if you had my cough, you would totally understand. Halls are the only ones that work. One or two and I’m good for a few hours. With other brands, like Ricola, they are like candy, don’t work and aren’t on the Whole30 either. So pardon me for wanting something that actually works on my throat.

Not only that, but the vegetable soup that I found that I thought was Whole30 compliant really wasn’t. I realized that when I poured it for lunch and saw potatoes in there. Granted, the can said organic potatoes (and my eyes somehow missed that part), but still… not supposed to eat potatoes. But I brought nothing else for lunch, so what did I eat? The soup.

Sigh… curse being sick. Of all the times for me to fall ill, it just happens to be during a time when I can’t eat real chicken noodle soup. Figures.

I met a friend for dinner and he said that he’s reading It Starts With Food right now! That’s the book behind the Whole30, the science, the plan and everything. He says he’d like to try it soon. It would be cool to have another friend doing something like this. :)

Meal rundown…

  • Breakfast: 2 hardboiled eggs & an apple
  • Lunch: Vegetarian soup
  • Snack: almonds, strawberries and pineapple
  • Dinner: CPK chicken salad (avocado, slivered almonds, beets, hard-boiled eggs, dried cranberries, etc)

How I feel:
Body feels good, again, aside of the sinus infection. Strong drugs are kicking it out, but the coughing stage seriously sucks. This time the coughs hurt worse than they sound… and that’s saying something. That means they hurt like a beast. My tastebuds are certainly perking up at different flavors, and I feel like I’ve tasted some amazing things through this already.

Still waiting for that cookie though… ;)

Leave a Reply

