How food makes me feel post-Whole30

Since I’ve been done with the Whole30 for roughly two weeks, it’s about time I do an update on how I feel.

First of all, the reintroduction phase was interesting… to say the least. Here’s what I’ve learned about how different foods affect me:

Dairy: Mostly bloating, gassy-ness, and general discomfort in the gut. It’s when I eat dairy that I notice my stomach sticking out a bit further than it should (think preggers). Red Mango didn’t seem to affect me as badly though.

Grains: Feel fuller faster and mild discomfort. Not as much as dairy, but doable. I don’t hate myself after like I do with dairy. But I do get really tired after eating grains.

Legumes: Just grossness that I’d rather not get into. Let’s just say it’s bad.

Soy: Kind of makes me sick to my stomach, hot/cold flashes and I feel like punching someone.

Alcohol: Felt fine for the most part, just couldn’t sleep worth a damn.

Cookies: For the first week, it was OH, THE PAIN! Both in the gut and the brain. After having a few cookies though, it dialed down to discomfort and hot/cold flashes. And it depends on the kind of cookie.

Cookie dough: I felt fine. Weird how that worked. If anyone could explain this to me, that would be awesome.

Chocolate: Didn’t feel a thing. Then again, chocolate is magical. ;)

Up next is a recap in photos including some of my meals and before/after photos. I’m debating if including Before/After should be debated… haha. There was a difference, but whether or not I want to share me in a photo with a sports bra on and spandex shorts on the internet.

Leave a Reply

